About the WPD

WPD BuildingThe City of Watertown is a diverse community of nearly 22,000 people residing in the center of some of the best hunting, fishing, and recreational opportunities in South Dakota. Watertown lies between two large lakes and has a strong industrial base to support its economy. Watertown is the trade center for some 50,000 people in northeast South Dakota. Watertown’s numerous parks and outstanding public education system make for a great place to live, work, visit, and raise a family. Watertown is home to Lake Area Technical College and Mount Marty University.

The Watertown Police Department is a 24-hour law enforcement agency, handling 27,000 calls for service each year. The WPD is a progressive agency that is committed to providing high-quality, open and community oriented police services. The department strives to educate its employees and offers advanced training and educational incentives to all personnel.

The sworn staff at the WPD consists of 41 officers and 21 non-sworn employees. The WPD has a Police Chief, an Assistant Police Chief, 3 Captains, 6 Sergeants, 4 Corporals, 4 Detectives, 2 School Resource Officers, 1 Mental Health Officer, and 19 Patrol Officers. 

The WPD is structured in such a way that it divided into three main components, Criminal Investigative Division, Patrol Division, and Administrative Division.